To Which She Yelled “Yes”

Recently, a friend of mine (who also happens to be my boss) got engaged to her long-time boyfriend (Go Chantel!!).  I am very excited for them and wish them all the best in their planning and in their future lives together. This news reminded me of when Megan and I got engaged, a story I would now like to share with you.

How did I get so lucky? Photo Courtesy: http://www.LastMountainPhotography.com

How did I get so lucky?  Our story begins a long time ago at a place called Echo Lake Bible Camp, where we attended as campers and later as camp counsellors.   The decision to date was tough because I lived in Winnipeg, MB and Megan in Regina, SK (7 hours away according to Google Maps… though it’s never taken me that long). We long-distance dated for little while, but I couldn’t stay away and eventually ended up moving to Regina. Shortly after moving, I knew that this was the girl I wanted to be with for the rest of my life. We had gone “ring shopping” a couple of times before and what Megan really wanted was an antique ring, or a ring that had some family or historical value.   I went about trying to find such a ring to present my potential fiancé. At first, it looked hopeless, but I put some feelers out with my family to see if any ring existed.  One day, I got a call from my mom that there was a family right that I could potentially use and found that my grandma was in possession of it and it was mine if I wanted it.

My Precioussssss.....

After seeing the ring (which looked a little tattered from years of being worn), I decided to take it, have it cleaned and it see if it was something I could work with. I took the ring to a jeweller in Regina and had it cleaned and appraised.   At the time, I was living with Megan’s parents in Lipton, SK (an hour drive away) and eventually got the call that the ring was ready in Regina.  I was so excited that I decided to drive down to Regina to pick it up.

I called Megan to let her know I was on my way and she was… let’s say… rather annoyed at me.  You see, Megan was, at that time, studying Social Work at the U of R and was in the middle of studying for an exam.  I was too excited though. She reluctantly agreed to having a house guest but only on one condition: I must not speak to her at all.  Not ideal, but I’m flexible.

Not that flexiable though... Photo Courtesy: laubarnes

 Before going to Megan’s place, I stopped in at the Jewellers to pick up the ring to find… it was beautiful. Perfect. Amazing.  I then made the decision that tonight was THE night. I was going to ask the girl of my dreams to marry me.  I went over to Meg’s and sat in her room while she studied like crazy.  We sat there in silence for quite some time when the doorbell rang.  Meg left to answer the door and I had my perfect opportunity to set my plans into motion.

I lit a stick of sandalwood incense (one of her favourite smells), I turned on a playlist of her favourite songs, I made sure the ring was still in my pocket, and I pulled out a letter that I a written that I wanted to read aloud to her. My heart was racing and I started to get very nervous.  And then I waited. And waited. And waited. The person who came to the door must have had something pretty important to talk to Megan about.

As I waited the stick of sandalwood incense continued to pour its scent into the room, it created a kind of sandalwood cloud.  This cloud, mixed with my nerves and the intensity of the overall situation made me feel quite light-headed and I had to open a window to prevent from passing out. Finally, after what felt like months, I heard the door close and Megan walking towards the room. I read my letter, we danced to one of her favourite songs, and I knelt on one knee, pulled out the ring and asked “Will you marry me?” to which she yelled “Yes!” (thank goodness). We called some friends and family to let them know about the news, and then… Megan went back to work on her paper.

I love this girl

Ahhh… good memories 🙂  D.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

