Pumpkins 2011

Every year, for the past 4 years, my wife and I have been getting together with a couple of friends to carve pumpkins. Each year things have gotten a little crazier. For my pumpkin this year, I decided to do Salad Fingers, a character from an animation of the same name by David Firth.  I would have embedded one of the episodes, but it’s a little creepy so if you feel brave enough, check it out here.

Now, we don’t carve pumpkins in the traditional way of making holes all the way through the pumpkin culminating in a scary face.  Instead, we cut of just the skin and shave the flesh from the inside of the pumpkin to allow light to come through.  It’s kind of hard to explain in written form, so I’ll just show you what I mean.

First, carve out an outline of your picture.

I then decided to work on the face.  This part is usually the hardest, mainly trying to decide which pieces to cut, and which to leave in order to make the eyes look right.

Once the face is complete, I like to start cleaning some of the area around the picture to make a frame of sorts.

And there you have it.  The completed pumpkin prior to lighting.

Here’s what it looks like all lit up. OOOooooOOOOoooo  creeeepppppy….


Here is just the group photo.  Starting from the left, we have Lady Gaga (sorry it’s so dark), Salad Fingers, Jack Layton, and Wayne Gretzsky.

Well, that’s pumpkin carving for this year. I’ll have to wait until next year to try out my next idea. What kind of Halloween traditions do you have? Have a safe and Happy Halloween!

D.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

