I Love the Prairies

Just like the great John Denver, I am so happy to be living on the prairies.  There is really nothing else quite like it.  Hear in Saskatchewan, we sometimes get a wrap for being simple, country folk from a Province whose only purpose is to house a highway connecting Manitoba to Alberta. I’m originally from Winnipeg, MB and shared those same ideas… that was until I moved across the border.

I was just cleaning up my blog, and I wanted to put a background picture showing the prairie landscape when it hit me.  I truly love living, learning and working in such a beautiful part of the country. Some look at Saskatchewan and say that it is flat and boring.  I don’t argue with the flat part (well, portions of this province are flat) but boring!?!  Give your head a shake.  Some people will look at places such as the Qu’Appelle Valley or the far north and say “see… we’re not boring. We have valleys and forests!!” I, however, am not one of these people.  While I do think the valley’s are beautiful and the forests are lush, I truly love the flat, open landscape that Saskatchewan offers. It inspires, awes, and causes me to reflect all at the same time. Open spaces are like endless possibilities.

As the population is Saskatchewan continues to increase at a rapid rate, I hope and pray that this place does not lose its charm.  I don’t have much more to say on the subject, but I want you to know that Saskatchewan is great and maybe the next time your travelling from Winnipeg to Calgary, take a moment to be lost in the vast openness.  Let your imagination take you to a simpler time.  A time when wild animals roamed the Canadian countryside, and you could travel for days without seeing anyone and anything manmade.

That’s all for today.

D.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

