My 4 Weakest Justifications for Not Attempting Weightloss

We all make excuses for why we can’t or won’t do certain things.  Weightloss is no different.  Below are four of my weakest justifications for not attempting weightloss and what I did to overcome them.

Photo By: elcamino73

“I don’t have time to exercise” – I get this.  Trying to lose weight within busy lives is challenging.  But… WE ALL HAVE BUSY LIVES.  You must ask yourself “how is ‘person A’ able to have so much free time to exercise?”   They have the time because they make the time.  When I first started losing weight, I would spend 30 mins every day doing something physical.  This usually manifested itself in walking, but later evolved into my rigorous physical training.  As I began to see results, I started to ‘workout’ for longer periods of time.  You don’t need a lot of time to exercise.  If you watch an hour of T.V. a day, that’s an hour you could have spent on a treadmill watching T.V.   This justification is weak and should not stop you from attempting weightloss.

“I don’t have enough money” – This statement would usually be followed by “to buy the healthy food”, “to afford the equipment”, “to go to the gym”.   Ok, let’s start with the myth of health food being more expensive.  This blog post I found goes into much more detail then I will here, but to sum up, basically it classifies food into three categories;  normal food, pseudo-healthy food and actually healthy food.  Normal foods would be things like pizza, bread, mustard, etc. You know, the types of food people would normally eat.  Then there are the pseudo-healthy foods which are versions for normal foods that have been processed slightly differently to make them ‘healthy.’  These foods are typically priced more expensively than normal foods, which I’m sure has led to some believing that healthy foods are more expensive.  I believe this is more of a marketing ploy to get people who want to be health conscious to buy ‘quick, easy, and processed’ foods.  Then there is actual healthy foods.  Foods that are homemade and not processed fall into this category.  They are usually cheap to buy, but people don’t favour them because, as the post says “you can’t slice open a package and munch.”    We have all been led to believe that in order to get healthy, we NEED to go to the gym and we NEED to buy expensive fancy equipment.   Just type ‘Street Workout’ into YouTube.

“I will just gain the weight back” – This is a legitimate concern.  I myself have been a weightloss yo-yo and have been discouraged by trying so hard to lose weight, only to put it all (and more in some cases) back on. I think the key here is finding something that works for you that is sustainable.  I really don’t like ‘diets’, I like having a healthy diet.  When I lost weight (detailed here), it took three years.  It was a long process and that may sound like forever, but I know I will NEVER gain the weight back.  My slow weightloss was the result of making changes to how I behaved over a long period of time.  This allowed those changes to become a part of my life… not just something I was doing for 4 months.  Make changes that are manageable and sustainable, and you will be on the road to successful, lasting weightloss.

“I love good food too much” – Well now.  I too LOVE good food.  I’ve heard some people say that they don’t like to eat healthy because it tastes bad.  I used to believe this also.  To be honest, I hated ALL vegetables up until I was 21 years old. Why did I hate them?  Mostly because I hadn’t tried them yet… or tried them once and had a bad experience.  I have made it a life rule to try everything not once, but twice.  It also doesn’t hurt to find some new ways to cook foods you once thought were gross.   I really don’t like raw vegetables, so I take those vegetables, roast them, saute them, and add a little salt and viola, they are delicious.  Stopping your addiction to salty, fat filled, processed food may be tough, but once it’s broken, I think you will be hard pressed to go back.  Some of the best food I’ve ever tasted, also happens to be some of the healthiest.

So, there you have it.  My reasons for not attempting weightloss and what I did to overcome them.  If you anything to add, please post it in the comments below.  Happy Weightloss everyone!  Dan.

Leave a Reply

