5 Miniscule Changes that Can Lead to BIG Weightloss

Photo By: porshelinn

The first couple of times I attempted weightloss, I focused on big changes I could make to live a healthier lifestyle.   This was usually something drastic like “I’m going to wake up at 5:00 AM every day and work out for 2 hours before work”  or “I am going to ONLY eat healthy foods for this point on.”   As I discovered, making drastic changes did lead to weightloss, but did not keep the weight off for very long.   In fact, I ended up much worse off than I had originally been.   My most recent attempt at weightloss, which started almost 4 years ago, has focused primarily on sustainability.  Whatever change I decide to make must be something that I am prepared to do for the rest of my life.  As an example, I am NOT prepared to give up chocolate.  I AM prepared to only have chocolate on special occasions.  Make sense?  With that said, I decided today to post the 5 smallest changes I have made that have helped me lose weight and keep it off.

Drink Water – Drinking water instead of high-calorie, high-sugar drinks (pop, juice, etc.) will greatly decrease the amount of calories you consume in a day.   If drinking water is not something do, I’d recommend diet soda, no-sugar drinks, or black coffee.  Liquid calories go down far to fast, not allowing you to enjoy the extra calories you are consuming.

Walk – I think my favourite outdoor activity is walking.  Not only is it good for my body, I also find it is good for my mind as well.  After a walk (no matter how short or long), I come home feeling relaxed and rejuvenated.

Eat Breakfast – I am not a scientist or a dietitian or anything fancy like that.  All I can say is what has worked for me.  Eating breakfast every day helps to awaken my body and leads to less brainless eating throughout the day. I find that when I don’t eat breakfast, I snack more and am more likely to pig-out at lunch or supper time (often using my lack of breakfast as an excuse for my eat-fest).   It doesn’t take much time (contrary to what some would suggest) and starts your day right.

Pay Attention – Be aware of what you are putting into your mouth and if the calories that are coming with are really worthwhile. Pay attention to how much food you are eating at meals and to whether or not you are still hungry before you finish every last morsel of food.   Being aware of what you are eating will go along way to lessening the amount of bad food you are eating and increasing the number of good food.

Sleep – What could be easier than sleeping? Sleep isn’t just the time when you get to relax and shut off your mind.  While your consciousness rests, your mind is active, performing maintenance and service to your body, both mental and physical.  To deprive yourself of regular maintenance will lead to more frequent mental and physical breakdowns.   It’s recommended that adults get between 7.5 to 9 hours of sleep every night.

That wasn’t so hard, was it?  I never suggest cutting something completely out of your diet, but making modifications that make the diet you already have healthier. Happy Weightloss!

Leave a Reply

